“Preserving, Protecting and Promoting the Dakota Culture for Future Generations”

(It really helps our tribe)

Subscribe to MMDTC

Share email to stay updated!

The New Breed of CPAs, serving Tribal Governments Only. Contact us, we may be able to donate our time to assist Mendota members in starting a new business, including Covid funding. www.ahzzma.com



The most important featured news and articles from MMDC

Mendota Dakota and the Rebirth of a Community, video documentary.

This documentary film follows the story of the Mendota Dakota, a Native American tribe from Mendota, Minnesota, from pre-Minnesota to the present era.
It includes interviews with Jim Anderson, Sharon Lennartson, Jim Albrecht and Curt LeClaire of the Mendota Dakota tribe. It also features a short speech from Arvol Looking Horse, the 19th generation Keeper of the Sacred White Buffalo Calf Pipe.
This film was created by Brian Gilbert.
Part 1 of 4

Part 2 of 4
Part 3 of 4
Part 4 of 4

The meanings of our MMDC Patches or Shield.

We have two sizes 2 1/2 x 2 –  for $8.00 and 4 1/2 x 6 – for $10.00. These embroidered patches representing the tribal shield of the Mendota Mdewakanton Dakota Community is available exclusively from MMDC by sending a check or money order to MMDC 340 River Rd, PO Box 50835  Mendota MN, 55150.

We appreciate your support.

Shipping is $2.00, please allow one week for shipping.

Pidamaya! means Thank You in Dakota.

Below is an explanation of the tribal shield.

Six Sacred Directions:

Blue Half Circle—Sky

Green Half Circle—Earth

Red represents the north—where we came from

Yellow represents the east—where the sun is born

White represents the south—journey to the spirit world

Black represents the west—where the sun dies and life-giving rain comes

Upper left quadrant—the confluence of the Minnesota and Mississippi rivers, ancestral homeland of the Mendota

Upper right quadrant—pipe signifies prayer

Lower left quadrant—survival as a people

Lower right quadrant—father sun & mother earth

Seven feathers—oceti sakowin, seven sacred fires of Dakota or Sioux nation